The NEW Situationists


I am giving a talk/performance with the radical political scholar Eddie Yuen this Saturday, April 15, 7-9 P.M. at ProArts gallery in Oakland, California across from City Hall.
150 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza
Oakland, CA 94612
510-763-4361
info@proartsgallery.org

https://proartsgallery.org/event/the-new-situationists-interactive-robotic-art-this-is-life-or-death/

There will be FREE libations and food served by machines and robots from 3-5PM
https://proartsgallery.org/event/the-new-situationists-bb-q/

+

SITUATIONISTS TALK WITH EDDIE YUEN
1.1ST ENCOUNTERS WITH SITUATIONISM.

2. HOW WAS I ALIENATED, MIDDLE CLASS CHRISTIAN REPUBLICAN UPBRINGING. HATRED OF CONSUMERISM,  STUPID JOBS, WAR, TV…BOREDOM.

3. HOW I BROKE OUT OF THIS, PUNK ROCK AND CREATING THE CULTURE I WANTED.

4. HOW DOSE ONE(I) USE THE SPECTACLE?
a. TV/FOX NEWS.
b. Levi’s add./LA Gear
c. Movie parts
d. Military $ offers. How to separate out what is selling out.
e. Decision to go with technology, interactivity and robotics.
f. Humor, fear, play.
g. It’s easier to have an artistic revolution than a military or political revolution.

Eddie Yuen teaches Critical Studies at California College of Arts.  His most recent work is on the discourse of climate change in the book “Catastrophism: The Apocalyptic Politics of Collapse and Rebirth”, (2012). He is the chief editor of two books on social movements and globalization and is a contributing producer for “Against the Grain”, a syndicated radio program featuring in-depth interviews with prominent critical thinkers. His talk will be on some aspects of Situationist political ideas and their relevance for 21st century capitalism.  I am looking forward to robot improvisation and accompaniment.

+
Fox News Video

Wine Pourer

+

Work in the Gallery
This is a video shot of me by the FOX “news” network in 1999. I had recently won funding from the Franklin Furnace in NYC. They were in part supported by the NEA. The right wing were still hounding arts organizations about any public support whatsoever. They contacted me for an interview and I jumped at the opportunity. They came to my performance asking endless questions attacking and inciting me. I answered the questions in the way I wished were asked instead. I flipped the TV crew and they did an OK piece, I think.
Exhibited with this video document is the Portable Small Scratchy Claw Machine, something to get 12105919_10206881151201562_3301052191661793229_n

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

~ by kaltek on April 13, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
